Happy Holidays 2013!

HappyHolidaysTinselnLights2

It’s the holiday season! This is one of my favorite times of the year.  I love the cold weather that has hit Santa Barbara because it means I can wear my cozy sweaters and my heavier coats.  I also seem to appreciate hot drinks a lot more.  But I think what makes this one of the best times of year is the general feeling of unity and love that I get every time I hear a Christmas song or see lights on someone’s house.  It’s just a fun time.

There are times when this season can be stressful and commercialized or materialistic  (i.e. Black Friday, holiday products being forced onto shelves right after Halloween, Christmas shopping).  Christmas shopping has already been quite a challenge for me, especially since I’m trying to be more frugal with my money.  However, when I think about this side of Christmas, I remember that, not only do I like getting presents, but I also love giving them.  The idea behind gift-giving and thinking of others is quite wonderful in my opinion.  When it comes down to it, it’s really the thought that counts.  

So enjoy the hot chocolate, my favorite Candy Cane Green Tea from Trader Joe’s, gingerbread cookies, enjoy your faith and enjoy giving to others.  I’ll probably come back with some updates on my Christmas shopping and gift ideas.  Thanks for reading and happy holidays :)   

I made the above Holiday GIF/E-Card using this tutorial from Blue Lightning TV.  I’m creating a work Christmas card and am testing out some different looks.  Love the idea for creating simple lights using lens flares, and the tinsel is really glittery and fun.  It worked out pretty well and I definitely learned some cool new techniques, but I’ll probably go for something more simple for the Noozhawk holiday card.

Leave a Reply

