Messing around with Photoshop

I take a lot of pictures.  Especially of just random things.  Usually it’s because there’s something that catches my eye or the subject is something that I want to remember.  The pictures usually aren’t special, but I think that there are some easy ways to get the effect that I want.

This is one of those pictures.  It’s of my baby brother at his desk at home.

DSC_0041

He’s not really a baby anymore.  This is where I can usually find him after I get home from work – he is usually laughing at a Conan O’Brien video or scrolling through Reddit or banging the surface of the desk with his fist because of a bad play on League of Legends.  He does homework, too.  Our basset hound likes to hide under the desk.

For me, I don’t know what it is, but there is something really special about pictures that are blurred around the subject.  I love how some blurriness can make a picture special.  So I looked for a Photoshop tutorial on how to blur certain parts of an image, and I’m pretty happy with the results.

Here’s the edited image:

DSC_0041 copy

I was able to do the edit using Photoshop and this tutorial from Photoshop Essentials.  There’s a lot of steps, but the tutorial is very easy to follow if you’re a photoshop newbie like me.

So there’s the picture that I was looking for…

Ok, it’s not revolutionary or exciting, but it’s fun to be doing something creative on an uneventful Friday night.

Leave a Reply

